St. Kitts Lawyers - SKN LEGAL, Brookes Mangan | St. Kitts Island View 1


St. Christopher (better known as ‘St. Kitts’) and Nevis is a twin-island federation, which forms part of the Leeward Islands of the Caribbean. The islands lie south of St. Maarten and the French island of St. Barthelemy (St. Barths), east of the Dutch islands of St. Eustatius and Saba and west of the island of Antigua.

The seat of the federal government is in Basseterre, the capital of St. Kitts and of the federation, while the capital of Nevis is Charlestown.

St. Kitts and Nevis each has a dormant volcano, with the highest mountain (Mt. Liamuiga) in St. Kitts rising to 3,792’ and Nevis Peak to 3,232’. In area St. Kitts is 68 square miles (168.4 sq. km2) and Nevis is 38 square miles (93.2 sq. km2). The islands are separated by a two-mile channel called ‘the Narrows’. The federation has a population of approximately 43,000. St. Kitts and Nevis enjoy a tropical climate with temperatures ranging from 70oF to 88oF throughout the year.


Historically, St. Kitts and Nevis were among the first islands in the Caribbean to be colonized by Europeans, with St. Kitts becoming home to the first British and French colonists when the local Kalinago Indians who inhabited the islands allowed them to settle without resistance. St. Kitts became the base from which the British and French expanded their colonization of the West Indies, thus earning the name the “Mother Colony of the West Indies”. The British colonized Nevis from St. Kitts in 1628. St. Kitts was shared between the British and French until the early 1700s. St. Kitts and Nevis (along with Anguilla) became a united British colony in 1882 and remained so until 1967 when they became an Associated State with Great Britain. In 1980 Anguilla seceded. St. Kitts and Nevis achieved independence from Great Britain in 1983.

Affiliations: St. Kitts and Nevis remains part of the British Commonwealth, with Queen Elizabeth II as its Head of State, represented by a local Governor General. The federation is also a member of the United Nations, the Organization of American States and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).


Since the 1640s and until recently the cultivation of sugar cane and production of sugar was the dominant source of income for the federation. The islands depended mainly on the sugar industry, along with tourism and light manufacturing. In 2005, the government shut down the state-owned sugar manufacturing corporation. Since then tourism sector has grown and is now the leading foreign exchange earner for the federation.

St. Kitts and Nevis also earn direct foreign investment through its Citizenship by Investment programme, established by the government in 1984. Under this programme, foreignors may apply for economic citizenship either through the purchase of property in an approved real estate development or by donation to the Sugar Industry Diversification Fund. For information on the Citizenship by Investment programme, see

Air Travel to St. Kitts and Nevis

A large number of international airlines (including British Airways, American Airlines, Delta, US Airways and Air Canada) have regularly scheduled flights into St. Kitts and Nevis. With direct flights to major cities in the USA, Canada and Europe, it is relatively easy to fly to and from the federation.

Office Address

Unit C3
Leeward Cove
Frigate Bay
St. Kitts


Office:(869) 465-4111
Mobile:(869) 663-0303
Mobile:(869) 764-2404